CME Facts

CME150 small updated

Facts About The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church

The Christian Methodist Episcopal (CME) Church was founded in December 16, 1870 by 41 ex-slaves in Jackson, Tennessee.

The CME Church celebrated its 150th anniversary on December 16, 2020.

The CME Church is a historical African-American Christian denomination. The membership base of the CME Church is becoming increasingly multi-cultural and multi-national which truly reflects upon the Great Commission to preach the gospel to all nations and all people.

The CME Church is one of three African-American Methodist denominations in the United States – African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church, African Methodist Episcopal Zion (AMEZ) Church and the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. The CME Church participated in the Great Gathering of the three African Methodist Episcopal denominations in March 2010.

The CME Church has more than 1.2 million members across the United States, and has missions and sister churches in Haiti, Jamaica and fourteen African nations.

There are eleven Episcopal Districts.

There are four CME related colleges, Lane College (Jackson, TN), Miles College (Birmingham, AL), Paine College (Augusta, GA) and Texas College (Tyler, TX). There is additionally a CME sponsored seminary, Phillips School of Theology, which is an affiliate member of the Interdenominational Theological Center (Atlanta, GA).

The first Bishop of the CME Church was Bishop William Miles.

At the historical 37th General Conference, five bishops were elected including the first female bishop, Teresa E. Snorton, and the indigenous bishop for Africa, Godwin T. Umoette.

The CME Church is governed by three branches; Executive (Episcopacy), Legislative (General Conference), and Judiciary (Judicial Council).

The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church is under the leadership of Senior Bishop Lawrence Reddick and the College of Bishops.

The headquarters of the CME Church is located in Memphis, TN.

Active Bishops include:

  • Senior Bishop Lawrence Reddick, Eighth Episcopal District
  • Senior Henry M. Williamson, Sr., First Episcopal District
  • Bishop Thomas L. Brown, Sr., Sixth Episcopal District
  • Bishop Kenneth W. Carter, Eleventh Episcopal District
  • Bishop James B. Walker, Seventh Episcopal District
  • Bishop Sylvester Williams. Third Episcopal District
  • Bishop Teresa E. Jefferson-Snorton, Fifth Episcopal District
  • Bishop Godwin T. Umoette, Tenth Episcopal District
  • Bishop Bobby R. Best, Ninth Episcopal District
  • Bishop Marvin F. Thomas, Sr., Second Episcopal District
  • Bishop C. James King, Jr., Fourth Episcopal District

Major annual connectional events include the CME Unity Summit, Pastors' Conference, Women's Missionary Council Executive Board Meeting. 

Major quadrennial connectional events include the General Conference, Connectional Lay Institute, Women's Missionary Council Quadrennial Assembly, and the Connectional Youth and Young Adult Conference

For additional information about the CME Church, visit 

Media Contacts
Dr. Theresa Duhart
President, Communications & Information Technology Connectional Department
Christian Methodist Episcopal Church 
Telephone: 253-376-6361 

Additional information is available at