The CME Church Official Website

A cross is in the center of a globe.

The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church

CME Church Episcopal Office

4466 Elvis Presley Blvd. Memphis, TN 38116

Contact Number

(901) 345-0580

Follow us :

Weekend Digest

View Online

The Weekend News Digest is online.

 
 

Join Us Virtually at the 10th District's

First Unity Annual Conference in Nigeria

2/7-11, 2024


The Tenth Episcopal District is celebrating its first Unity Annual Conference in Uyo, Nigeria from February 7-11, 2024. Our national theme is: ‘THAT WE ALL MAY BE ONE’ from John 17:21. The event is being held at the prestigious National Ibom Hall.

Thanks to the Starlink pilot project implemented by our General Secretary and Chief Information Officer, Dr. Theresa Duhart, the new satellite technology has allowed the global CME Church to be linked together virtually (live) throughout the world!

We are live streaming designated sessions via the CME Facebook page at https://facebook.com/thecmechurch. The schedule of events is provided below. You are invited to watch the sessions live or on demand at the Facebook page.



Blessings,

Bishop Ricky D. Helton

Presiding Prelate of the Tenth Episcopal District

Christian Methodist Episcopal Church

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

 

NIGERIA UNITY ANNUAL CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

View/Download the Schedule

Note: Nigeria West African Time (WAT) is 6 hours ahead of EST; 5 hours ahead of CST; 8 hours ahead of MST; 9 hours ahead of PST; and 10 hours ahead of Alaska Time

 

Wednesday, February 7, 2024

11 am – Nigeria WAT/ 5 am EST/ 4 am CST/ 2 am PST

Opening Service

Preacher: Dr. Paul Brown – President/Dean Phillips School of Theology

 

1 pm – Nigeria WAT / 7 am EST/ 6 am CST / 4 am EST

Main Conference Session

 

6 pm – Nigeria WAT / 12 pm EST/ 11 am CST / 9 am PST

Devotion/Evening Worship

Preacher: Rev. Dr. Da’Henri Thurmond, 6th District

 

Thursday, February 8, 2024

9:00 am – Nigeria Time WAT / 3:00 am EST/ 2:00 am CST/ 12 am PST

Devotion

 

10 am – Nigeria WAT /4 am EST/ 3 am CST/ 1 am PST

Preacher: Rev. Dr. Jetson Maness – Presiding Elder, 7th District

1:30 - 3 pm – Nigeria WAT / 7:30 am EST/ 6:30 am CST /4:30 am PST

Interactive Sessions: Strategic Plan Presentation by Mission Supervisor Samson Fianko/Greetings by Guests/Videos from Bishops & General Officers

6 pm – Nigeria WAT / 12Noon EST/ 11 am CST/ 9 am PST

Devotion

6:30 pm – Nigeria Time / 12:30 pm EST/ 11:30 am CST/ 9:30 am PST

Preacher: Rev. Robert Williams – 7th District

 

Friday February 9., 2024

9:00 am – Nigeria WAT / 3:00 am EST/ 2:00 am CST/ 12 am PST

9:30 am – Nigeria WAT / 3:30 am EST/ 2:30 am CST/ 12:30 am PST

Preacher: Rev. Dr. Herman “Skip” Mason – 6th District

 

12 pm – Nigeria WAT / 6 am EST/ 5 am CST/ 3 am PST

Ministry To Men March/Missionary March

 

7 - 9 pm – Nigeria WAT 1-3 pm EST/ Noon-2 pm CST/ 10 am-12Noon PST

Evening Worship: Preacher: Rev. Kim Varner – 9th District) /

Missionary Annual Song Competition/More

Greetings from General Officers (Dr. Jacqueline Scott - Missionaries & Dr. Shannon Faulk - Lay)

 

Saturday, February 10, 2024

9 am – Nigeria WAT / 3 am EST/ 2 am CST/ 12 am PST

Devotion (Preacher: Rev. Yvette Henderson – 7th District)

 

12 pm – Nigeria WAT / 6 am EST/ 5 am CST/ 3 am PST

Ordination Service: Bishop James Walker – 7th District

 

6 – 9 pm – Nigeria WAT / 12Noon-3 PM EST/ 11 AM-2 PM CST/ 9 AM-Noon PST   

Devotion (Preacher: Rev. Diana Casteele - 8th District)/Young Adult Choir Competition

 

Sunday, February 11, 2024

9 am– 2 pm - Nigeria WAT /3 am-8 am EST/ 2 am -7 am CST/ 12 am-5 am PST

Communion Service (Preacher: Bishop Charley Hames – 9th District)

2 – 4 pm – Nigeria WAT /8 am-10 am EST/ 7 am-9 am CST/ 5 am-7 am PST

Conference Business/Closing Service/Benediction

 

📚 Embrace the Bold Money Matters Educational Series! 🌱 Step into a world of financial empowerment tailored just for you. This is your chance to master budgeting, saving, and investment strategies, enhancing the financial aspect of your spiritual leadership. Register now

Why You Shouldn't Miss This

Expert financial guidance at your fingertips.

Practical strategies for informed economic choices.

Translate financial literacy into your personal and ministry life.


#ClergyFinancialEmpowerment #LearnAndLead #BoldMoneyMatters2024 #CMEClergyAdvancement #FinancialWisdom #EmpowerThroughEducation #MinisterialExcellenceFund #BeBold 

 
 
 
WMC Executive Board 2024

Dear Missionaries, CME Members and Friends,  

The Women's Missionary Council’s Executive Board Meeting 2024 will be held February 19-24, 2024 at the Hilton Airport Charlotte Hotel located at 2800 Coliseum Centre Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217, and hosted by Bishop James B. Walker and First Lady Delois Walker and the members of the Seventh Episcopal District.

General Information & Tentative Program Agenda

General information about the Women's Missionary Council (WMC) Executive Board Meeting 2024 and the Tentative Program Agenda is available at the https://www.cmewmc.org/executiveboard2024.

Registration

Registration for the WMC Executive Board Meeting 2024 is $150. The fee includes the badge, conference kit, workshop materials, reports of Officers, Secretaries, Chairpersons and other working materials.

Online registration is now available at the WMC Web site, https://www.cmewmc.org/executiveboard2024.

You may download a registration form at the WMC Web site: https://www.cmewmc.org/executiveboard2024.

Event Meal Tickets

The Executive Board Meeting 2024 will feature several events with meals.

  • Prayer Breakfast
  • Presidents' Luncheon
  • Executive Board Banquet

The last day to purchase meal tickets was February 7, 2024. Meal tickets will not be sold on site.

Hotel Information

The official hotel for the Executive Board Meeting 2024 is the Hilton Airport Charlotte Hotel located at 2800 Coliseum Centre Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217. All rooms are sold out at this time.

Additional Hotels Available to Reserve a Room

Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte 

4800 South Tryon Street 

Charlotte, NC 28217

833-617-1943 

 

DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport

2600 Yorkmont Road 

Charlotte, NC 28208

888-257-4950



We look forward to seeing you at the Executive Board Meeting 2024. Please pray for the Women’s Missionary Council and the success of the meeting and activities as we continue to serve Jesus Christ and the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church in this present age.

 

In the Service of the Lord, 

 

Dr. Jacqueline I. Scott, International President     

Patron Bishop Charley Hames, Jr.

Christian Methodist Episcopal Church

 
 
CYYAC24
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
PRAYER MINISTRY
PRAYER CALL
 
DECF logo
video

View the Sunday School Lesson


Lesson - Power Without Equal or Faith In The Power of God

Scripture -  Daniel 3:19-28a

2/11/2024

Presenter - Rev. Dr. Carmichael D. Crutchfield, General Secretary, DCEF


 
 
 

Register here and you will receive a confirmation notice for the weekly C-ME Grow session!

 
 



The Foundation for Evangelism

Local Church

Grant Cycle Opens January 15, 2024

Additional Information is here 



The Foundation for Evangelism is pleased to announce it will open the 2024 Equipping the Local Church grant cycle on January 15. Up to 50 grants of $5,000 or $10,000 are available to small and medium* church congregations, or clusters of churches working together, in a Wesleyan-tradition denomination. 

During the last Equipping the Local Church Grant Cycle in 2023 projects included a wide range of evangelistic disciple-building in the local church context including: 

  • A community partnership in a housing project focusing on the homeless, children, low-income, veterans and the formerly incarcerated. It is not only meeting physical and social needs, but also offering God’s hope and love through the gifts and strengths of the congregation.
  • A spiritual care and discipleship program that’s building Christian community at a low-cost housing complex.
  • Intentional creation of low-barrier entry-points to build relationships between church members and those in their community that may not be comfortable entering a church but want to know more about Jesus.  

The grant is intended to help launch an experiment or initiative to share the Gospel in word and deed, build relationships, and invite others into a discipleship journey with Jesus. 

Any church or group of churches fitting the criteria may apply. 

To help clarify the grant criteria and application process, an information session will be held on January 25, 2024 from 2-3 p.m. Eastern. You can register for the session at FoundationforEvangelism.org/apply-for-grant.

Applications open January 15 and will close February 29, 2024. 

The Foundation for Evangelism Equipping the Local Church grant initiative seeks to empower pastors and laity in smaller local congregations to dream, take risks, and partner with God in the transformation of lives and communities. These grants are made possible through the generosity of donors, friends, and partners of The Foundation for Evangelism. 

For 3/4 of a century, The Foundation for Evangelism has been guided by the belief that the church is God’s primary vessel for offering abundant life to all creation. Our work focuses on strengthening leaders, laity and congregations to be resilient faith communities sharing the Gospel and inviting others into the Body of Christ. Our work to help the Wesleyan-tradition church retain and act upon its zeal for sharing the Good News of Jesus Christ has involved countless hours of resourcing, relationship-building and combined grant awards of more than $17 million. To learn more about our work, visit www.FoundationForEvangelism.org.


*under 250 participants

 
 
 
LAYSTAYCONNECTED
 
The Christian Index

The January 2024 issue of The Christian Index is available for purchase for online viewing here.

 
The Missionary Messenger
 
Renew Messenger
 
CIT Web Design Services
WEB SERVICES
 
 
Copyright Essentials
 
OFFICIAL CME WEBSITE
Technology Discounts

The General Department of Communication and Information Technology (CIT) has established vendor partnerships with Adobe, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo, Microsoft, Mobile Beacon and Zoom. All CMEs including our local churches, members, Presiding Elder’s Districts, Episcopal Districts, Bishops, General Officers, and other Connectional leaders can save from 5%-50% on technology products from top vendors! Spread the word about these discounts to members in your local church! Shop at the Technology Portal.

 

The 3D Board of Christian Education BLACK HISTORY MONTH 2024 Celebration opens with "Lift Every Voice and Sing." Thank you to Nathan Tate of Allen Metropolitan CME Church (Chicago District). View here.


 
 Amplifying Voices: Rev. Dr. Luther E. Smith, Jr.
 
 
 
NEXUS NEWSLETTER
 
 
4TH DISTRICT PRAYER CALL
 
7TH DISTRICT PRAYER CALL
 
1ST DISTRICT PRAYER CALL
 
2ND DISTRICT PRAYER CALL
 

The 10th Episcopal District Web Site: https://www.tenthdistrictcme.org/

10TH DISTRICT WEB SITE
 
CME CHRUCH HISTORY
COLLEGE OF BISHOPS PURPLE VESTMENT

The College of Bishops of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church

COLLEGE OF BISHOPS WHITE ROBE
 

Liturgical Calendars

 
CME QUADRENNIAL THEME

The Episcopal Address by Bishop Teresa Snorton from the 2022 General Conference of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church is available for viewing and downloading here.

Photo Albums of the 2022 General Conference can be viewed at the official CME Facebook page.

View the Episcopal Address and Worship Services Video Series.

 

FOR RELEASE ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2024

SCHOLARSHIPS AVAILABLE FOR METHODIST STUDENTS ATTENDING SELECT HBCUS

Nashville, TN – The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation (UMHEF) offers scholarships to support Methodist students attending select HBCUs. Students who are members of The United Methodist Church, the American Methodist Episcopal Church, the AME Zion Church, and the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, and are planning to attend a UM-related college, university, or seminary may apply. Applications for the 2024-2025 academic year are open January 1 – March 1, 2024.

UM-related HBCUs include Bennett College, Bethune Cookman University, Claflin University, Clark Atlanta University, Dillard University, Gammon Theological Seminary, Huston-Tillotson University, Paine College, Philander Smith University, Rust College, and Wiley College. Awards range from $500 to $5,000.

UMHEF’s two main programs are General Named Endowed (GNE) scholarships and the United Methodist Dollars for Scholars (UMDFS) program. The GNE application is a typical competitive scholarship that considers leadership, GPA, and financial need. With this one application, students will be considered for over 130 different endowments (additional requirements may apply), including awards designated for HBCU students.

The UMDFS program begins with a $1,000 scholarship sent to UMHEF from a student’s home church (more than one church may combine funds). This scholarship is matched by UMHEF to total $2,000. Participating UM-related schools and, for students who are members of The UMC, United Methodist conference foundations may also each match the initial scholarship. The total award amount may reach up to $4,000.

More information on eligibility criteria, the application process for each award, and FAQs can be found at www.umhef.org/scholarships.

The grand vision of UMHEF is that it be financially possible for qualified students to attend a United Methodist-related institution of higher education. Annually, the foundation provides nearly 1,000 students with scholarships totaling more than $2 million. Learn more at https://www.umhef.org/.

###

Public Relations Contact: Teresa Tysinger, [email protected] / (615)649-3975

 
 
GET CONNECTED CAMPAIGN

Greetings, Brothers, and Sisters in Christ, 

Some 10 million rural African Americans lack broadband internet, primarily in the South. They cannot use such essential services as online doctor visits, church services, school assignments, family connections, and voter registration. Thankfully, the Federal Communications Commission launched the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP), providing nearly 18 million low-income households nationwide with resources to pay for necessary broadband service. The ACP offers eligible families a $30 monthly discount on high-speed internet services, making access free for many participants.

 

Here's what you can do:

1 - Forward to pastors in your network serving rural communities the "Get Connect" Information card below with a contact number and website for guidance through signing up for the ACP program. 

To Apply Call 1 (877) 384-2575 or Visit www.GetInternet.gov/apply.

2. Encourage them to visit - https://www.skinnerleaders.org/getconnected to download the "Get Connected Toolkit."

 
Friendship Press Collections

Supported by the National Council of Churches of Christ in the U.S.A. Additional information is here.

 
 
CMEYOUTUBECHANNEL

Visit here to subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/cmechurch

 
 
 

FOLLOW US

WebsiteFacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top